top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Using SingapoRediscover vouchers in Sentosa

December is the season for clearing annual leave. I decided to spend some time in Sentosa so that I can use my expiring SingapoRediscover vouchers too.


It has been a long time since I played the Skyline and Luge in Sentosa - in fact, I last visited ten years ago for the National Geography Challenge. I booked the tickets for 4 Skyline and Luge rides for $30. I intended to spend the remaining amount on a trip to Universal Studios but aborted the plan because of the school holiday crowds and will go next year.


Instead, I embarked on a short hike on the Imbiah Trail. I think it is amazing to have a piece of nature in the midst of man-made attractions. While the abundance of wildlife was a feast for the eyes, the serenity was constantly broken by piercing shrieks of adventure seekers on the zipline right above the forest. Before heading home, I took a ride on the cable car ($3 for locals!). I love the aerial view of Sentosa - you can truly appreciate the juxtaposition of the beautiful forest against a backdrop of urban architecture and shipping ports.





Needless to say, I shot some photographs and videos. I hate to admit it, but I think my Macbook can no longer handle the large file sizes from newer technology. I had to export more than 10 times instead of simply previewing my edits because of ridiculous frame rates. I think I have to get some sort of stabiliser for my phone too if I wish to continue using it for videography in the future - even something as simple as a neckstrap will help tremendously. I shot enough footages for two videos but barely had enough for one in the end as the camera shake was too noticeable in several of them.



I still like the final edit though because of the aerial shots. I don't have a drone and don't have plans for getting one in the near future because of regulations and the loud noises it makes which may disturb wildlife since I like shooting nature. I actually considered getting a Charters pole in the past until I saw its cost. The price tag is not the only high aspect of it though - it is a 6m pole screaming for attention:



Anyway, it is no longer for sale, so I think I will stick with cable cars for now. I used the rest of my SingapoRediscover vouchers for a trip next year including the Mount Faber cable car so I'm looking forward to more great views!

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page