top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Rebuilding my indoor garden

When the date of my house-moving approached, I stopped buying new plants as it would be a hassle to transport them. Now that I have settled in my new house, I can start adding greens to my room!


Even though my new windows are still north-facing, they are significantly larger and let in more light. My room also has fantastic ventilation now with strong cross-breezes.


This time, I want to ensure that I do not compromise on aesthetics while satisfying my love for collecting plants. I like having floating shelves instead of racks which occupy floor space. To be honest, I also find my grow lights ugly and the purple hue is jarring to the eyes. I decided to build my mini indoor garden on shelves near my windows to eliminate the need for grow lights. As I decided to purchase floating shelves after my renovations were completed, I will not be able to drill them into the walls and will be limited to lighter plants i.e. air plants.


To create the indoor garden, I headed to Bah Soon Pah road on my day off. I chose to visit the plant nurseries there as the government is taking over the land and they will be relocating soon. In fact, some of the nurseries have already closed down and restored the land. The selection of air plants was not the greatest there and I returned home with 3 fat Ionanthas and some fake moss rocks.


I shot some videos too as it has been a long time since I have uploaded to my channel. Initially, I wanted to try a new editing style, but I completely forgot that Premiere Pro on my old Macbook cannot handle my LG V50s' 4K videos. In the end, I just stitched the videos together using good old iMovie. I was quite annoyed that I did not switch off V50s' video stabilisation though and a lot of my footages were unusable.


My garden is still a work-in-progress and I cannot wait to share it soon! I am pretty satisfied with it so far :D


@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page