top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Kranji Countryside CNY Festival

Thank you to Facebook Ads for alerting me to this great event ~

The Kranji Countryside Association organised a Chinese New Year farm hopping experience with support of governmental agencies. Six farms/nurseries/restaurant came together to support this event - Qian Hu Fish Farm, The Jungle Market, Nippon Koi Farm, Orchidville, Chengtai Nursery and Kok Fah Farm. The public was provided with a shuttle bus service from Choa Chu Kang to Qian Hu and with internal shuttle services among the farms. This is fantastic because it is difficult to cover the large swathes of land in the Kranji Countryside by foot.


Qian Hu was the centre of the activities featuring sale of local produce, face painting for kids and lucky draw booth. A representative from Kranji Countryside Association was present to encourage visitors to like their Facebook page and in return, we got free local vegetables from Singapore's rooftop farms. From Qian Hu, visitors can choose to embark on two tour routes with their internal shuttle bus service. I went on Route 2 first (Qian Hu > Nippon Koi > Chengtai > Orchidville > Qian Hu) followed by Route 1 (Qian Hu > The Jungle Market > Orchidville > Kok Fah Farm > Qian Hu). I purchased some bananas from Nippon Koi and two air plants from The Jungle Market. I wanted to buy more but I am running out of garden space. I had my eyes on some succulents in Chengtai yet sadly they were infested with mealy bugs. After an exhausting day, I collected stamps for visiting all six locations and got a goody bag of local produce.



@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page