top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Former View Road Hospital Urbex Cinematography

In a previous post, I described my visit to the Former View Road Hospital during the Battle of Singapore tour and featured photographs I had captured. Seven months have since passed and I have finally edited my footage of the hospital.



The urban exploration theme gave me more creative freedom to edit as compared to my videos of nature. I did not stabilise my handheld clips to enhance the first person perspective. I have also managed to keep some unique cuts that are not the usual panning shots (e.g. where I turned to look at an object). As this was a run-and-gun shoot, the footage I captured did not produce the video I had in mind while editing. If I am to shoot a similar video, I will prefer to shoot longer continuous footage showing how I explore each area and use static to cut abruptly between scenes to portray a nervous person wandering about an abandoned building.

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page