top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Installing a bidet in my toilet

When toilet paper flew off the shelves during the height of coronavirus fears, bidets gained popularity as an alternative. In fact, bidets have an almost cult-like following where many users proclaim that it is life-changing and wished they had adopted it earlier.


I finally jumped onto the bidet bandwagon. As I was not entirely convinced by its hype, I purchased a cheaper version via Qoo10 for $28.90. It comes with two nozzles that work using a spring mechanism activated by water pressure. Installation was quite straight-forward and could be easily completed in 30 minutes. (However, I struggled for a while as the hinge bolt screw for my toilet bowl was damaged and I decided to wrestle with it instead of purchasing a new one.) If I have to install a bidet again, I will opt for a more expensive one with metal attachments as the plastic T adaptor does not inspire confidence.

A bidet definitely feels more hygienic and has greatly reduced my use of toilet paper. According to Business Insider, a bidet "uses only one-eighth of a gallon of water, while it takes about 37 gallons of water to make a single roll of toilet paper", making it a win for the environment too.

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page