top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Pak Choi, Sansieveria and Strawberry | Circuit Breaker Gardening

I decided to start my indoor edible garden with dwarf Pak Choi.


Day 0

I sowed 7 seeds in a well-draining soil mix which I had made for my succulents. The rest of the seeds were kept in my fridge to preserve their freshness.

Day 4

Surprise! I had a 100% germination rate by Day 4. I expected less success, hence there are 4 seedlings in one pot and 3 in the other. I will transplant to larger pots in later stages. I have also placed them closer to my grow lights as they appear leggy.

Day 16

Although the leaves are bigger, the overall growth is quite slow. I just fed them seaweed fertiliser and I hope the nutrients will help.

My mother passed me some dying Sansieveria plants. Her plants are grown at the windy corridor but her pot of Sansieveria still got infected by fungus. The plants were removed from the soil and left to air-dry for a few days. I repotted them today and gave them a drink of Captan fungicide.

A kind gardener gave out some of his old seeds and I requested for strawberry, cucumber and tomato seeds. I sowed some strawberry seeds today. To be honest, I do not think I will have as much success in germinating them as my Pak Choi seeds since strawberries are harder to grow in Singapore and the seeds were not fresh.

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page