top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Former View Road Hospital

On 16 January 2015, I ventured to the Former View Road Hospital during the height of my interest in urbex. Unfortunately, I was stopped by 'No Trespassing' signs. Although I am not actively pursuing urbex now, I remain fascinated by abandoned places and jumped at the opportunity of a guided tour to the Former View Road Hospital.

Taken in 2015 using my old Sammy

The furthest I could go

To commemorate the Battle of Singapore, the National Heritage Board organises tours to historically significant places in Singapore every February. I participated in their Mount Imbiah Battery and Tiong Bahru Air Raid Shelter tours previously. This year, I signed up for the Former View Road Hospital and Former Admiralty House tours. I originally planned to go for the Changi Prison tour as well but it was cancelled due to COVID-19.


I snagged the first tour of the Former View Road Hospital on 8 February. Due to miscommunication among the different organisations, our bus was stuck outside a locked roadblock for around 20 minutes while the NHB staff tried to contact the CISCO guards. The staff said we should remain in the bus to conserve our energy but frankly the walk up to the hospital should take only 3 minutes or so.

Stuck at the roadblock

Finally arrived!

Stunning exterior

I found the meshed stairwells interesting.

View from the roof


I wished we had more time to explore and permission to enter the rooms (we were allowed to walk along the corridors only). Nevertheless, I am really glad to be able to explore the hospital before it gets slated for new development.

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page