top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Jewel Changi Airport Videography

I remember being so disappointed when I landed in the Las Vegas McCarren Airport for my first solo overseas trip. Where are the restaurants? Shops catering to tourists? Here in Singapore, we not only have those, in fact we have a forest and a waterfall inside a huge air-conditioned dome at our airport.

This is a quick and dirty edit of my Jewel Changi footages. It takes a long time for me to process raw Magic Lantern files so I have actually been sitting on them for over 5 months. However, my stance on using Magic Lantern remains as the result is simply stunning. Check out the amount of details at 1:10 - the individual leaves can be discerned which is not achievable with Canon stock software.


Canon needs to thank Magic Lantern for retaining the appeal of its DSLRs. While I am waiting for an upgrade for the 14-year-old 17-55mm F2.8, Canon actually announced that it will no longer make EF lenses. If dual pixel AF and Magic Lantern raw did not make such a dream combination, I will seriously consider jumping ship.


Right now, Canon 70d with Magic Lantern performs well for videography and the quality of my videos is limited by my skill. Honestly, although I try to incorporate some new elements into every video, my videos appear to be made using the same formula. I will come up with something fresh (in preferably lesser than a year as I still have a backlog of Magic Lantern footages to go through).

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page