top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Annular solar eclipse Singapore 2019

Whenever I hear of an upcoming astronomical event, I think of giving it a miss by reasoning that I do not have to photograph every single one. As the day approaches, I start preparing my gear and organising my shoot. 真香定律.


Thanks to the partial solar eclipse back in 2016, I am well-equipped for this rare annular solar eclipse with solar glasses and a handmade filter for my Sigma. I cannot emphasise how important it is to have a solar filter when viewing eclipses. So many people risked having eye damage and frying their camera sensors because of inadequate protection.


To track the eclipse, I initially camped at a roof terrace. However, I realised the sun was going to be blocked by tall office buildings and quickly shifted to an open carpark. My setup soon attracted a lot of eclipse viewers who eagerly snapped photographs of my camera screen.


My setup. It was so h-o-t.

A photograph of my screen as I waited for maximum eclipse.


I think my location was not sufficiently south as the Ring of Fire was not perfect. Still, I thoroughly enjoyed witnessing the event. In my excitement, I made a composite using Powerpoint instead of waiting till I reached home to edit with Photoshop.


The next eclipse will be a partial solar eclipse in June next year. I hope I am lucky enough to photograph it too.

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page