top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Cleaning sticky laptop covers with baking soda


I want to share a quick method to rejuvenate old sticky laptop covers in this post. After a few years of use, my plastic Macbook cover developed a layer of sticky residue which further trapped dirt. I saw no reason to get a new cover since I hardly bring my laptop out. I was pretty sure the Internet would have a solution for this problem and sure enough I found a site describing the use of baking soda.


I dusted a light layer of baking soda on the cover and added some water to make a paste. I rubbed the paste on the cover and washed away the filth. In less than five minutes, I had a sparkling new laptop cover again.

I had cleaned the right side of the cover when I took this photo. You can see how dirty the left is.

Cleaned!

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page