top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

DIY Watering Can

I wanted a watering can for a long time but was unwilling to spend on a plastic one. Daiso sells metal watering cans but the product tag says 'For decoration only. Do not fill it with fluids' which essentially renders them useless.


I decided to rack my brains and try to make a watering can out of waste materials. I thought a drinking straw resembles the sprout of a watering can and I salvaged one from the drinks my family bought. From there, I googled 'watering can straw' and found a great tutorial.


For this project, I used:

  • Drinking straw

  • Aluminium drink can

  • Twine (or any other rope)

  • Silicone sealant

  • Penknife


I used the penknife to cut a small hole at the bottom of the drink can. I stuffed the straw in and tied it in position using twine. Finally, I sealed the opening using silicone. The twine can be removed after the silicone sealant cures. It works great and there is no leakage.

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page