top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Singapore Garden Festival Horticulture Show 2019

The inaugural Singapore Garden Festival Horticulture Show 2019 was held from 27 April to 5 May at the newly-opened Lake Garden in Jurong Lake Gardens. There were several competitions, exhibitions and of course a marketplace for gardeners to splurge at.


I visited Jurong Lake Gardens on 4 May. The horticulture show was well-organised with ample manpower and shuttle buses ferrying visitors from the nearest train stations. However, due to the large crowd, traffic and queues were extremely slow. Combined with the sweltering heat, there was not much appeal to explore and hence I decided to focus on the marketplace.


The marketplace felt like a toned-down version of the Singapore Garden Festival held last year. It still offered several local and overseas vendors, but the selection of plants was mostly limited to orchids, air plants and succulents. This actually worked out well for me since I love air plants and succulents.


I always wanted to do a plant shopping video and this trip was a great opportunity. I did not bring my gimbal as it would be too cumbersome. I also did not shoot in raw (too much work for a non-cinematic video, but the H.264 wide shots were awwwwful). However, I decided to use my 70d this time because I only recently found out how wonderful dual pixel AF is. I used this function before, but its accuracy and fast speed was not as apparent for photos as compared to videos. It is fantastic. Impressive. Game-changing.

Five succulents and a roll of aluminium wire went home with me.

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page