top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Tillandsia caput-medusae | Gardening Diary


Tillandsia caput-medusae is one of the hardiest air plants in my collection and can survive long periods of drought. It enjoys high temperature and humidity, which is easy to achieve in tropical Singapore.


It earned its name from the beautiful snake-like leaves. As the plant dries out, they curl more. This species is xeric but I do like to let my caput-medusae have a quick soak in water weekly to unfurl the leaves.


My larger caput-medusae is growing fresh roots. Although roots are only used for anchoring, I take new roots as a sign of healthy air plant.


I have some flowering specimens and they are absolutely stunning. Tillandsia caput-medusae attains a lovely pink blush when it is flowering.

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page