top of page
The Author
The Author
  • Hui Xing Lau

Photographing FISE World Edmonton

I was scrolling through my old blog when I found my post on photographing the FISE World Edmonton event (held in William Hawrelak Park on 18 September 2016). It was a novel experience for me as I have never photographed a professional sports event before. While the event was thrilling to watch and photograph, I wished I had a media pass as I was standing in a location with strong backlighting.


I was armed with my Canon 55 - 250 mm. Here are some of my shots (all from skateboarding heats):

I believe I can fly!

Adrien Bulard left the strongest impression on me, and he is the only one whose name I remembered.

I was surrounded by his fans - all passionately shouting his name and holding out skateboards for him to sign.

Besides skateboarding, there were BMX and teens competitions as well. I used to dream of performing stunts on a bicycle, but the most impressive trick I have ever done was to crash full speed into a wall.


I am a complete novice when it comes to sports photography, and if I get the chance I would love to shoot one again (hopefully with a media pass!).

@croxxingphotography

Instagram

I am Hui Xing, a photography and videography enthusiast from sunny Singapore with a strong passion for travel. Outside of my free time, I work as a research officer in environmental epidemiology.

 

I enjoy nature, wildlife and long exposure photography, although I venture into other realms from time to time.

​

I shoot events too! Click here for my portfolio.

​

Email: croxxingphotography[AT]gmail.com

bottom of page